Personal

Looking back on 2016…

I don’t want to start a new blog with a cliché “new year, new me” post (that comes later…), but I do want to have a little look back on 2016, which has been a bit of a mad year! In the wider world we’ve been faced with the deaths of many celebrities (and one gorilla ), we had a Pokémon filled summer and Brexit and Donald Trump’s presidency became a reality (I won’t comment any further as I admit I’m not as well informed as I could be on the subject).

On a personal level, I would say 2016 has been a year of undoing, and that hasn’t always been a bad thing! Here’s just a quick rundown of some of the big things that have made up my year.

  • I got my first proper job working in conservation as a social media executive!  I promptly quit after 8 months. I learnt a lot and met some great people, but other opportunities presented themselves…
  • I got a place to study a masters degree in ecology and conservation at Imperial College London.  I’ve wanted to go back to university pretty much since the moment I left York in 2014. This year I was lucky enough to get a place at one of the best universities in the world to study my dream course. I applied on a part-time basis as my financial situation meant I couldn’t afford to study without a part-time job, but sadly Imperial’s suggested the timetable for part-time study didn’t meet my needs, so I’m currently on an interruption of studies while I save up to study full-time next year.
  • I’ve moved twice this year. I spent 8 months living in a shared house in Huntingdon which may have been the worst experience I’ve had in a shared house ever. I now live in my own little flat in London, but I don’t live alone…
  • After a sad but amicable break up in May of 2015 due to geographical differences, my move to Huntingdon allowed me to reconnect and get back together with my boyfriend of 6 years.  We had to cope with a bit of distance for the 8 months while I worked in Bedfordshire and he was studying his PhD in London, but we now live together happily in our own little London flat!  We owe a lot to Star Wars!

2017 will have its challenges I’m sure, but I’m feeling good about the year to come!

Happy New Year!

The images used in this post are free stock photos from Pexels.

Leave a Reply

